Rebel T6 Telephoto Options Advice

EddM
Contributor

New to the Community.

Have the Rebel T6 and 3 lens:

• EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
  • EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III, and
  • EF 28-90mm f/4-5.6

I would like to do wildlife/bird and othe longer distance photography with a 500mm plus lens.

I am a hobbyist/amateur and really cannot afford the pricey Canon lens in that 500mm range.

Am I better of to buy something like a:

• Canon Extender EF 2x Auto Focus
  • Viltrox C-AF 2X Teleplus/Yongnuo YN-2.0X II Teleconverter or similar
  • or even the Canon 1.4x EF Extender III Lens and Teleconverter

to use with the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III

or

Buy an inexpensive manual focus only 500mm like the:

• Oshiro 500mm f/6.3 (T-Mount with Adaptor)
  • Opteka/Bower/Vivitar 500mm f/8 (T-Mount with Adaptor)

I know you get what you pay for and all but would appreciate feedback, thoughts, recommendations.

23 REPLIES 23

@EddM wrote:

Tamron 200-500mm SP IF LD DI

I do not know anything about that lens.  Be advised, that more times than not, you get what you paid for.  Because your T6 is an entry level camera, there are probably more disadvantages to using a third party lens, than a canon lens.

What type, or size, of birds are you looking to photograph?

IMG_2015_09_260649.jpg

The real trick to getting good photographs being close to the subject.  I shot the above photography with an EF-S 18-135mm lens on a Rebel T5, which was the predecessor to your T6.  The cameras seem identical, minus the Wi-Fi.

If you are just starting out, then there is a learning curve looming in front of you.  I suggest climbing the ladder, and starting out with an EF-S 55-250mm lens from the Canon Online Refurbished Store, and get a one year warranty backed by Canon.

https://shop.usa.canon.com/shop/en/catalog/lenses-flashes/refurbished-lenses

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."