cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie looking for body and lens recommendations to use in motorsports/automotive shoots

hoosierdaddy
Contributor
Hello all! New to the Canon Community. I've been a hobbyist for a few years with prior experience starting with the A2 and Elan film bodies. In addition to the film bodies I also have a Rebel XT (circa 2003-2005). I took some time away from Canon, and have been relying on my smartphone's (8MP) camera for the last several years. I write an automotive lifestyle blog, travel for motorsports as well as club events, and go any other car event close to me. Looking to get more serious about my product/results, and would like to hear recommendations for a body, and the 1-2 must have lenses as well as any other gear that would be useful for car shoots and motorsports. I still have four lenses: 28-105mm, 85mm, 100mm macro, and 75-300mm ultrasonic lenses from my film days. My thought for the first lens is the 24-70mm II f/2.8 USM for the utility role. Any advice would be most appreciated, and thanks in advance
18 REPLIES 18

cicopo
Elite

When talking motorsports how close will you be usually & how fast are the vehicles? Do you have a budget & are you looking for a high FPS rate? Static photos don't require the same gear fast moving vehicles might but a better body can do static as well as high speed stuff.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."