cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lenses | extender for Canon 70D

davekstl
Contributor

I purchased the kit which includes a Canon EFS 55 to 250 mm IS lens. I am trying to understand options going forward. Can the 70D body only accept a EFS lens? Is there an extended that works with my EFS lenses? I am very new to the technology and I see the 70D uses a different sensor  than other DSLRs. So when I go to pick an extender or longer telephoto, what do I need to be sure of in order to find one that works with this camera body?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I want to thank everyone for the infromation and the ideas.  It gives a place too start.

Dave

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

cicopo
Elite

Your camera can accept EF-S and EF lenses or 3rd party lenses made for those mount systems. There is a price to pay when adding teleconverters because they cut the amount of light hitting the AF sensors & in many cases you loose AF. The very best source of info I know of for TC info is here (note 2 discussions about them).

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Right off the top of my head. I don't think any Canon t-con works with any ef-s lens.  So, that is OOTQ.

However, any of them work with your EOS 70D.

BTW, I think some of, if not all, the Kenko t-cons will work with ef-s lenses.  I believe it to be such a bad idea I haven't tried to do it.  MOST of the time extenders are not good.  You give up too much for what you get.  There are a few lenses that handle a t-con well but they are the exception and they  are the expensive lenses.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@davekstl wrote: