cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens tissue paper or microfiber cloth?

John_SD
Whiz

What do you guys recommend for lens cleaning -- lens tissue or microfiber cloth?

I assume that it's always best to use the rocket air blower and brush whenever possible. The gal on the Canon site uses 91 isopropyl alcohol to clean smudges when necessary. Makes sense to use 91 as it has virtually no water in it and evaporates very quickly. Still, most of the guys I know use some specialty cleaner rather than 91 alcohol. Not sure why. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhdJyBucqrk

27 REPLIES 27

Leica
Apprentice

I ALMOST NEVER CLEAN CAMERA OPTICS, AND NEVER TOUCH THEM. WHEN I DO, CLEANER COST IS NEVER CONSIDERED.

4 Decades ago I worked in the then infant gas laser industry and had to clean laser windows before assembly and the mirrors.

We found that hand oils migrate via the best cleaning solutions, and never used a hand held lens cleaner or any cloth to clean them. I would NEVER trust the junk that now appears as cleaning cloths.

I use the same method now on my best optics. I take a cool lens or filter (holding the filter by the ring with hemostsats) and hold it so liquid can run off, over a warm conatiner of VERY FLAMMABLE (CAREFUL)  or even room temp pure ethanol alcohol.

I use Graves Grain Alcohol 190 Proof; 95%. The condensing vapors flow the contaminants off.

In bad cases we would even pour a little directly out of the bottle onto the lens.

I have never seen any damage in any coating over all the decades.

"...had to clean laser windows before assembly and the mirrors."

That is where I learned how to clean a lens.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@Leica wrote:

I ALMOST NEVER CLEAN CAMERA OPTICS, AND NEVER TOUCH THEM. WHEN I DO, CLEANER COST IS NEVER CONSIDERED.

4 Decades ago I worked in the then infant gas laser industry and had to clean laser windows before assembly and the mirrors.