cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lens question settled. Got a WA.

ScottyP
Authority

OK. I just bought the 16-35 f/2.8 III at a real life camera store in Cleveland. (No camera stores in Pittsburgh.). Took it straight to the Cleveland zoo, as payback for the family for a nearly 2-hour drive to Cleveland. I was going back and forth between a budget 3rd party lens and this one but I went this way.

I have only viewed my shots through the camera LCD but two impressions so far:

1.). HOLY COW BUT 16MM IS REALLY WIDE! I will really need to get used to that. I've been shooting for 3 years with a 35mm prime as my walk around lens and 16MM is kind of shocking. I wonder a little if I should have gone with a 24-70 instead, but I am thinking the 16MM will be useful for buildings and big bridges in Europe.

2.). The vignetting at 16MM at f/2.8 is really heavy. You can see it even looking at the images on the back of the camera.

While I was there I also also picked up a Streetwalker to carry it all. It was really nice to do business in a real camera store with real staff and it was especially great to be able to try the backpacks on.

I am deleting a duplicate of this post at the end of my original thread. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?
3 REPLIES 3

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

1.  Yes, the view from 16mm on a full frame is quite wide.  It is a great lens to use in tight spaces.

2.  The vignetting is nothing that cannot be corrected in post.  You'll notice barrel distortion, too.

IMG_0026.JPG

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend