cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'd love some advice on which lens to buy...

Stan16
Contributor

Hi,

Great to be here. I'm a novice and hobbyist shooting with a 77D. I currently just own a 50mm 1.4 lens. I'm looking to assemble my own kit, but I'm not sure which lens to purchase next. I know I'd love a versatile lens that can handle low-light situations such as concerts, but can also be used as an everyday lens. I was looking at the 24-70mm 2.8L, but it's worth more than my soul. Haha. If I were to purchase this lens, would I still need any additional prime lenses? I was thinking of getting the 35mm f/2 and the 85mm 1.8 instead of the 24-70. So many options, and tough to decide where to go next. Anybody have any advice? Thank you to all!

20 REPLIES 20

"Buy lenses for the camera you own, not, for a maybe someday camera. .........

Today's cameras have come so far it becomes harder and harder to justify a full frame camera over an APS-C camera."

Absolutely, 100% agree.  The big secret, they do it at half the cost!  

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thanks, TTMartin.

Well, I bought the 77D just to have something to learn on. I do want to upgrade eventually, but not till much later. I'm still trying to get my feet wet with this stuff. I just don't know enough about cameras to understand what makes a good camera. Like, I've no idea where the 77D stands with most photographers. Maybe they think it sucks? I don't know. I just know it was the first camera I saw, and it was on the more affordable side. Haha. So I'm trying to learn as much as I can with this one. I do have to say, the ISO at 6400 is grainy as hell already. 😕

Thanks, TTMartin.