cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'd love some advice on which lens to buy...

Stan16
Contributor

Hi,

Great to be here. I'm a novice and hobbyist shooting with a 77D. I currently just own a 50mm 1.4 lens. I'm looking to assemble my own kit, but I'm not sure which lens to purchase next. I know I'd love a versatile lens that can handle low-light situations such as concerts, but can also be used as an everyday lens. I was looking at the 24-70mm 2.8L, but it's worth more than my soul. Haha. If I were to purchase this lens, would I still need any additional prime lenses? I was thinking of getting the 35mm f/2 and the 85mm 1.8 instead of the 24-70. So many options, and tough to decide where to go next. Anybody have any advice? Thank you to all!

20 REPLIES 20

ScottyP
Authority

I love that you started with a bright prime. 

With a crop sensor i'd shy away from 24-70 because the 24mm wide end is like 35mm field of view.   Not wide enough.  That is supposed to be your walk around lens. 

Look at EF-s 17-55 f/2.8.  Sharp as heck, constant bright f/2.8 aperture, and the zoom range is optimized for crop sensor.  That was my walk around before I sold my crop body. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

The first thing you probably need to understand is the difference between APS-C and full frame sensors.  When you use a EF lens on an APS-C body, the focal length of the lens changes by a factor of 1.6x.  So a 24-70mm will be a full frame equivlent of 38-112mm when used on a APS-C body.