cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Focus problem when using follow focus

alexweb
Apprentice

Hi !

I'm a beginner in shooting video and i ve just purchased a follow focus (Fotga DP500III) witch i use with my Canon EOS 70D & EF-S 18-135mm IS STM lens. I've set it up on my rig, i've set up the gear belt on the focus ring of my lens, for now all is ok. This follow focus has 2 hard stops, so I wanted to test the focus between 2 objects by adjusting the focus of object 1 and by positioning the hard stop A, and the focus of the object 2 and by positioning the hard stop B (all that in MF of course).This works fine, except that by doing several back and forth between the two points I lose the focus of the 2 objects (which were well settled initially) and the more I do the more and more the defocus increases ! This does not come from stops (which could have loosened), the follow focus seems accurate (apparently) and the gear belt doesn't slide over the focus ring of the lens...
So I do not understand why I lose the setting of my focus as the back and forth with the follow focus?
Does this come from my lens and its way of making the point with the ring in manual?
Should i have a Cinema lens so that there is no such problem?
Thanks for your help.
AW.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I think the lens you are using is a "focus by wire" lens.  There is no mechanical connection between the focus ring and the focusing motors or focusing lens elements.  Your exposure metering system needs to be active for the lens to be manually focused.  The STM lenses are designed to allow the camera to auto-focus the lens, but not necessarily for manual user control.