cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM + Extender EF 2x III + Rebel EOS T7I

sridzyowski
Contributor

Hi Everyone,

Im new to photography. My Wife loves to take pictures of flowers and insects however I mainly like to take pictures of Birds from a distance and other things further away like the moon with my powershot sx60 

SO MY QUESTION IS. 

I just purchased the new Rebel EOS T7I .. Love it. but looking to ger the   EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM .. but i was also looking into purchasing an extender with it and figured why not get the   Extender EF 2x III . Would all this be possible and work with my T7I .. or would i just need to get the 1.4x ? 

All answers are helpful as well as any suggestions. 

Thanks Ahead of time

26 REPLIES 26

cicopo
Elite

That depends on a few things but the most important one is whether or not the camera can AF at F 8 or F 11 which iswhat the 2 TC's you mention make the widest aperture that lens can give with a TC added to the light path. It's doubtful that body can AF at F 8 but if it can it will be too slow for birds in flight.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I just did some research and found this.

Canon EOS Rebel T7i (800D), 77D, 80D

TODO: Expand with lens group information

45 points are available at all apertures f/5.6 or wider, 27 at f/8. With certain exceptions, the following apply:

• If f/2.8 or wider, all 45 points are cross-type; additionally, the center point is high-precision dual cross-type.
  • If f/5.6 or wider, all 45 points remain cross-type but the center point is standard-precision single cross-type.
  • If f/8 or wider, 27 points remain available, 9 of which are cross-type.
  • Autofocus does not function with lenses narrower than f/8.

So does this mean that it will autofocus in the f/8/11?

@sridzyowski wrote: