cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM + Extender EF 2x III + Rebel EOS T7I

sridzyowski
Contributor

Hi Everyone,

Im new to photography. My Wife loves to take pictures of flowers and insects however I mainly like to take pictures of Birds from a distance and other things further away like the moon with my powershot sx60 

SO MY QUESTION IS. 

I just purchased the new Rebel EOS T7I .. Love it. but looking to ger the   EF 100-400mm F4.5-5.6L IS II USM .. but i was also looking into purchasing an extender with it and figured why not get the   Extender EF 2x III . Would all this be possible and work with my T7I .. or would i just need to get the 1.4x ? 

All answers are helpful as well as any suggestions. 

Thanks Ahead of time

26 REPLIES 26

@cicopo wrote:

How well does the 100-400 Ver 2 + a 1.4 TC do at focusing on fast objects (over 100 MPH) travelling towards or away from you but at an angle something like the plane in this photo? It would be on either a 1D4 or 7D2.

The Great Egret I posted above was coming directly towards the camera in flight. I suspect the closure rate on the camera would be similar to the plane approaching at a 45 degree angle. I haven't used the combination at the race track as it is just too long for where I normally shoot from. The only time I notice focus speed at all with the 1.4X TC III is when the lens is set to 'Full' focus instead of '3m to infinity'. Then focus speed is noticeably slower. I suspect any complaints about focus speed of the lens stem from that. 

@RobertTheFat wrote:

@TTMartin wrote:

@cicopo wrote:

The Sigma (or Tamron) has lots more reach & a lot of us use it for that reason. It's a matter of what will work that you can afford and for me it's the 150-600 & my old 100-400 (ver 1) is on standby.

Yes, the old 100-400 (ver 1) was almost a 20 year old design, it doesn't compare to modern lenses from Sigma, Tamron, or Canon.