Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM


CliveM wrote:

Thanks Hank. It was set to off, so that is something else to try in the daylight tomorrow. Sometime it is not just the camera that is not too smart! Clive


Ha ha...it's just the camera.  Not sure if this will solve your problem but everything is worth a try.  I can tell you two things:

 

1. My day job is as a test engineer.  One thing I learned is that it's always the one you least expect (that would never happen) that will get you every time. Things work for one lens do not mean they will work the same for others...

 

2. I didn't read about this setting...I learned it the hard way.  I have a 5D3 and a 7D2 and both would occasionally and inexplicably quit focusing from time to time when I use the telephoto lenses (400mm f/5.6L, 600mm f/4L) - always at the most inopportuned time -  until I discovered this setting.  Since I set this to ON, I haven't had any problems.  I got the 100-400 II after I set this option and I've got no problems with it whatsoever so I don't know if this could be the culprit.  I can tell you that there is no downside to setting this option to ON.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM

Tried it out this morning - did not work. Also tried it with the other suggestions about the range - this made no difference either.

Appreciate the suggestions though - it still might be operator error!!

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,608
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM


CliveM wrote:

Tried it out this morning - did not work. Also tried it with the other suggestions about the range - this made no difference either.

Appreciate the suggestions though - it still might be operator error!!


What shooting mode are you using?  And, what exactly does "did not work" mean?  What exactly did you try to do?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM

I tried it in P, Aperture and Speed priorities.

First I set the lens to be out of focus manually on a distant object, then extended the zoom to 400mm and tried to get it to autofocus. When I say it did not work - it did not focus at all. I have the camera set on A1 Servo, tried it on Full range and on 3m to infinity.

Putting the lens onto a 5DI it focussed everytime in the same modes as with the failures with the 5D4.

 

I still think it might be another setting and I will try going through all the settings on the 5D4 to see if there is something I have overlooked.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,608
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM

You seem to have a direct issue with your one camera body.  Contact Canon Support.  The camera needs to be checked, and perhaps the lens, too.  But, most definitely have the camera checked by Canon, and only Canon.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: EF 100-400 IS II USM

Many thanks - still working through the settings before contacting canon. Appreciate all the advice received so far.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement