cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon T3i + EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM Lens?

WolfheartFilms
Contributor

I am a young photographer who currently owns the T3i Costco kit (Comes with the 18-55 IS II and 55-250 IS II). I am very interested in buying the EF 70-200 f/4 L IS USM lens, because I love doing up-close photos. Would the lens work well with the T3i, and would it be any better than the 55-250 IS II?

Thanks,

WolfheartFilms (Caleb)

16 REPLIES 16

Reason I asked was that bringing distant objects closer is task for telephoto lenses, but getting close to an oblect and seeing great detail is generally a macro lens.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The 70-200mm f/4L is a noticeable upgrade over the 55-250.

The 55-250 is a consumer grade lens where affordability is an important consideration.  The 70-200 is an L series lens.

You will likely notice much improvement in contrast and ability to resolve fine detail over the 55-250.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

It really comes down to how serious are you.  Is this just a hobby or are you interested in taking it farther?

If you are a hobbists keep what you have and spend the money on other equipment.  But if you are ready to move to the next level by all means buy it.  The 'kit' lens is designed for the masses and the 'L' is designed for the advanced and pros.

Beside the obivious IQ improvement, an 'L' lens is designed for day in day out use.  It is designed to work and work every time for a long time.  The average 'just for funsey' person doesn't need that.

If you are that guy that wants to take it farther, I doubt the 70-200mm will be the only lens you will want but it fills it's intended roll very well.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ScottyP
Authority