cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 80D : 24-70 f2.8 vs 24-105 f4

dinorowan
Apprentice

Hi,

I'm a mostly event photographer, currently I work at an independent high school school in their marketing department doing a lot of their events, videos, etc. It's a lot of running around and good amount of low-light shots in their theater.

I recently purchased an 80D (upgraded from a 60D) and I absolutely love the low-light performance that the 80D offers. I'm currently using the kit lens (18-135mm) but now that I have the financial means, I wish to upgrade.

I'm drawn to the 24-70 f2.8 for the wider aperture, and the 24-105 f4 for the wider zoom range. I mostly use wider aperture for low-light situations (less about artsy bokeh etc), but I feel like the 80D's strength in low-light will be able to make up for f4 vs f2.8. I also like the wider zoom range of the 24-105 which will make it easier to cover events without having to switch lenses so much. 

I also have a 10-18mm wide angle lens that I love, so the slight wide angle loss going from 18mm to 24mm isn't a huge issue.

I'll be getting a video monopod very soon as well, and I have a 40mm 2.8 prime as well, but I don't use it that often unless for video interviews etc. 

Anyways, back to the 24-70 f2.8 vs 24-105 f4 for my 80D. Obviously a huge price difference between the lenses as well. But with the background I provided, what do you all suggest?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Now for the, not only correct answer but the best answer. Smiley Wink

My bag has been reduced to these three lenses.  They can do 99% of whatever event I ever, and want to, shoot.

Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L Fisheye USM Lens

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM Lens

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM Lens

I love this gear.  Highly recommend it.  These are the best lenses made.

Not wishing to spend that small fortune, here is a cheaper alternative and it is almost as good.