cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 100d lens upgrade

Alpkan
Apprentice
I have a Canon 100d with a 18-55mm lens. I recently got into photography and started taking classes. As a beginner, I quickly realized what I have is not ideal for my needs. I am especially interested in blog and product photography. I need a longer lens such as 85mm or longer. I was wondering investing money in my Canon 100d and buying a lens such as 85mm or 18-135mm would be enough to make product photography. As an other option, I can also consider buying a better camera. I would appreciate if anyone can tell me what the best option is. Should I stick with my 100d and buy a 18-135mm lens for multi purpose?
Or two fix lenses 35 and 85 for example? Or buying a better camera? Thanks
6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Alpkan wrote:
I have a Canon 100d with a 18-55mm lens. I recently got into photography and started taking classes. As a beginner, I quickly realized what I have is not ideal for my needs. I am especially interested in blog and product photography. I need a longer lens such as 85mm or longer. I was wondering investing money in my Canon 100d and buying a lens such as 85mm or 18-135mm would be enough to make product photography. As an other option, I can also consider buying a better camera. I would appreciate if anyone can tell me what the best option is. Should I stick with my 100d and buy a 18-135mm lens for multi purpose?

Over the years, Canon has released a few versions of an 18-55mm lens in Rebel camera body kits.  I think most 100D [SL1 in the U.S.] came with the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, which is a surprisingly good lens when used in good lighting conditions.  This is most recent and best version of the 18-55mm lens.