cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Lens for Photographing cars

DAWNVANAUKEN
Contributor

I have the Canon Rebel 4ti.

I generally photograph kids.... just for fun.

My favorite lens is the 1.8 - 50 mm   maybe someday I'll get the 1.4 but this works for me right now.

However, I have been asked by my husbands Camaro Club to photograph Camaro's at an event.

Each car will be driving in front of a backdrop - and I will photograph it.

I'm not great with this, because not sure what would be the best lens to photograph a vehicle outside.

Any suggestions would be great.

Again, I'm very new at this....I'm doing it for free....  but like the creativity.

20 REPLIES 20

Thank you..... I'm going to check the lens out.  Your comment makes me feel a little bit better about my pictures.... LOL I thought perhaps I was hopeless last night.  Started reading all the links and suggestions and was a bit overwhelmed.

There are a couple things I would have done differently in the photos you shared. As you take more pictures you will notice some little things that make good photos, great.

For example if you permit me, Smiley Wink I would have put the railroad tracks in the center of the photograph . Kinda like the diminishing returns of the parallel lines. And the rail in the other photo adds nothing but obstruction. Still your photos are very nice and there will always be "critics"!

Besides your equipment, the Canon T4i and a 24-105mm f4 L, the addition of some post processing software would be a fine idea. Photos are not solely made in the camera!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I sincerely appreciate your suggestions. Tips such as yours are only going to help me improve.

I am a Grandma who started out taking pictures of her Grandson. Too cheap to pay for newborn shots. Had a Rebel XS and researched pintrist and took a couple of classes.