cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

70-200 f/4 IS VS non IS !!

fisch_lenko
Apprentice

Hello, Im new to photography so I need some help. I am currently taking pictures of my kids playing soccer and generic running around with a canon 75-300 / t3i but im not very impressed with the image quality.

Im thinking about buying the canon 70-200 f/4 non-is because I'm on a bit of a budget and also because i've heard great reviews of it. For what i'll be shooting how big of a difference would it be without having IS, and comparing it to the 75-300 is would it still be superior image quality without IS?

Greatly appreciated, Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Any of Canon's 70-200mm lenses can blow the socks of off a standard 75-300 camera kit lens.  Canon makes 4 versions of the lens, and all are constant aperture lenses, f/4 and f/2.8.  There are versions at each aperture with and without IS.  The versions with IS are weather sealed, while the non-IS versions are not.  Seeing how your camera body is not weather sealed, there is no harm in buying a lens that is not weather sealed, either.

The least expensive 70-200mm is the f/4 non-IS version.  Image Stabilization, in and of itself, while convenient, is not a "must have" feature.  While weather sealing is a nice feature, it should not be a game changer or a deal breaker.  For some people, the lack of weather sealing is a deal breaker, but for the majority of consumers it should not be.  With high shutter speeds, you really do not need IS.  Many pros may turn off IS when they can shoot with sufficiently fast shutter speeds, anyway.