cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

24-105mm f4/L IS USM or 24-70mm IS USM f4/L

CalebTurna
Contributor

Ok, so i am in a little bit of a pickle here. I am somewhat new to Photography and recently bought a 60D Second hand for a bargain. I am now looking at Lenses to buy for it. I am looking for a good all round lense that i can carry over to a FF Camera when i am ready. From the research that i have done the best options for are the 24-105mm f4/L and the 24-70mm f4/L. I was thinking of buying second hand, of course with the proper inspection. Is it worth buying second hand? It will be mainly for photos but i do plan on doing a decent amount of film. If necessary i would rather photo quality than video quality. I would like the capability of up to 105mm but from what i have heard is that is is slightly worse image quality wise to the 24-70mm. I have also heard that the IS of the 105mm is better? My budget is some what limited but i can save towards another lense if recommended. What would you guys recommend? 

Thanks 

10 REPLIES 10

ScottyP
Authority

The 24-70 does have better IQ and does allow near-macro closeup as a somewhat surprising little extra. OTOH, they are both f/4 lenses and the 24-105 does give more range. 

I could go either way but I think I’d do the 24-70.  Either way I would personally want to also have a lens that can do a bigger aperture than f/4. I think I’d either save up for a 24-70 f/2.8 L II or I’d get the f/4 zoom but supplement with a bright f/1.8 or f/1.4 prime lens at 50mm or 35mm. 

Used is is fine if you go with a reputable place or at least use it to test. Canon returns are very dependable but often not all that cheap, especially since they will charge you sales tax. 

Scott