cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1300D and 70-200mm f2.8 L IS II

frensco
Contributor

Hi,

I am a newbie in DSLR, I am planning to purchase a len 70-200mm, which has the IS function, I would like to know, if it is using with 1300D, is the IS function still available?

thx

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

My friend,

"Don't presume that means it is best for everyone."

Goes both ways doesn't it.  Smiley Happy   You are certainly entitled to your opinion. I respect that and I know not everyone agrees with mine.  Please show the same courtesy.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

38 REPLIES 38

All lenses are a compromise.  If you want the largest zoom range other parameters will suffer to get you that. The ef 70-200mm f2.8L has a zoom ratio of a little less than 3:1.  Pretty good to get everything right.  Any 10:1 is going to give up IQ.

You are mistaken about "L" lenses bein gthe only 'fast' lenses.  There are many non-L lenses that are quite fast and pretty inexpensive.  The ef 50mm f1.8 is a little over a hundred bucks.  There is an ef 85mm f1.8 and on and on.  It is easy to get fast apertures with prime lenses. If you want fast and cheap stick with one of them.

The EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens is an outstanding zoom at $800 bucks. The Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art Lens for Canon is a true speed demon.  Again around $800 bucks.

It is always best to keep your gear more or less equal in quality.  Any one of these I mentioned would be a great match for a T6.  I just scratched the surface, too.  Get on Canon web site and just browse what is available.

EB

"It is always best to keep your gear in more or less equal quality."