cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

10 Stops ND filter

Minuscule
Apprentice

Hello all,

I would like to buy a ND filter (stop 10 I think) for trying long-time exposure.

I have a Canon EOS 100D and 3 lenses: EF 50mm f/1.8, EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 and EF-S 10-18 mm f/4.5-5.6. Of course, they all have different diameters... I don't have a massive budget but I prefer waiting rather than buying a bad quality filter.

At the same time, I am not experienced at all with long-time exposure and I might not be sure what I'm after so I don't really want to buy the most expensive filter to realise I don't want a 10-stop in the end but something else.

Do you have any suggestions? Shall I buy a filter with a specific diameter or is it better to have an adapter to use square filters?

I'm a bit lost!

Thanks 🙂

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Typically, one would buy the filter size for your largest lens, then use step down rings for your smaller lenses.  For example, I could have 82mm ND filter.  I could use an 82mm to 77mm step down ring to use it on smaller lenses.

You do not want to use a smaller filter on larger lens, because you will get severe vignetting.

A 10 stop ND filter is pretty strong.  What are you trying to photograph? Or, how long of an exposure?  An ND filter is useful with a very wide aperture lens, on a bright sunny day.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Best idea is to get smaller intensity ND filters because you can combine several if needed.  A typical ND is 3 stops.  High quality ND's can run in the $100 dollar range.  The B+W 58mm MRC Solid Neutral Density is a god choice and is around $70 bucks. (Fits your Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens.)

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

TCampbell
Elite
Elite