Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

Hi,

all I can say is that is does not work at all new driver or not.

I'm running:


Board: Asus Z97 Pro

Windows 10, 64 Bit


The scanner worked fine before I changed the board. I updated Win7 to Win10 as well, but that was done before I changed the board. I'm not absolutely sure if I tried to use the scanner with the old board and Win10, but I suspect the problem is related to the new chipset and not the operating system.

Any other ideas what to try next?


Ralf

 

 

 

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-21-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

As far as I know, there is no fix, and Canon has refused to even address the issue.  None of the Canoscan LiDE's appear to work with Windows 10 at all. I tried my old 110, then bought a 220 think a newer machine would work.  It didn't. so I finally gave up and bought an Epson, which plugged in and worked perfectly...no issues at all.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

So,

I contacted Canan support and their advice was to use USB 2 and install the driver while the Windows firewall is off. What a silly advice. As expected this procedure did not help since I used USB 2 already.

 

I checked my private hardware store and found a quite old USB 2 hub. Believe it or not, the scanner works when connected to this old USB 2 hub.

 

This is prove Win10, 64 Bit works, but the scanner/driver/firmware has a problem with the board's USB chipset (board: Asus Z97 Pro).

 

Ralf


Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-29-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

Could you please tell us the make and model of this USB hub?

 

My retailer won't help me return it and neither will Canon.

 

Canon will only offer to repair it (doesn't need repairing as we all know) and the retailer is telling me that it is Canon's problem since the issue is with compatibility.

 

Really down dealing with this mess.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-15-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

It is from the no name brand TCM being sold by a big coffee roaster. I'm afraid you most likely will not be able to get it any more.

I do not scan a lot. My latest attempts showed there are still some problems. Just scanning a sheet works fine most the time. When I tried to define a region to scan each second attempted failed.

So my previous euphoria is considerably dimmed. Anyway, having the HUB lets me use the saner with some pain.

I addressed this issue to Canon support again but did not get any response.

This was definitely last Canon devices I have bought.

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-21-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

Yeah, I tried the powered USB hub option too.  It worked for exactly one scan, just like the USB port on the computer.  I can't believe that Canon was willing ot loose this many customers over faulty drivers.  After 30 years of using Canon printers, scanners and cameras, I was forced to return the Canoscan 220 I bought thinking the 110 was just old, and purchase an Epson. It plugged in and worked flawlessly.

Certainly not something I wanted to do, but Canon's flat out refusal to even address the issue left me with no other options.  Perhaps Canon should ask Epson how they managed to wrte a working driver for Windows 10?

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

Most of the problems reported have two factors in common:

 

  • An Asus motherboard
  • Windows 10

I had the same problem as you have described. Tried everything I could think of and finally solved it by installing an NEC-based PCI card with USB 2.0 connectors. Installed the card, booted up and no problems.

 

The issue appears to be something to do with the Asus motherboards and Windows 10. By placing suitable intermediary hardware (PCI card in this case) between the scanner and the motherboard seems to solve it. The Canon drivers worked on another (Lenovo) laptop that I used for testing purposes, again with no modifications or problem.

 

Hope that helps.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-05-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

Shanna wrote:

Hello SimplyTev!


Welcome to the Canon Forums and thanks for your inquiry!

The Forums aren't meant for immediate assistance, but are designed to allow the community to help each other with issues encountered or tips they'd like to share along the way.

If this is a time-sensitive matter, our US-based technical support team is a much more efficient way to get help! They're ready to help 24/7 via Email at http://bit.ly/EmailCanon or by phone at 1-800-OK-CANON (1-800-652-2666) weekdays between 10 AM and 10 PM ET (7 AM to 7 PM PT).

We hope this helps!


 

 

This is the worst customer service response I have ever seen in my life. This thread is about a very common problem that Canon refuses to acknowledge or fix and when customers beg for the manufacturer's help Canon responds with, 'figure it out amongst yourselves'. Unbelievable! Someone should be fired.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-05-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

I have to take it back ... It stopped working again, I don't know what happened. Last error: 5,202,8 An Internal error has occurred. Scanner driver will be closed.

Frustrating ... It's completely new scanner and it doesn't work as it should
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-29-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

I ended up returning mine to the retailer, citing incompability problems and replaced it with a HP Scanjet 300 for only £11 more which is due to arrive soon.

 

Let's just hope this is the end of my nightmare with all this.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement