Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

I am afraid nobody is investigating this incident. It bothers me so much, that I have decided to bring this scanner back to the shop. Trying to use Lide 220 is waste of time. I will continue to use my old A3 Mustek scanner, which is much more reliable, but also much bigger.

Spoiler
 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-20-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

This problem still exists!

I just got new computer with Asus Z170 motherboard (Asmedia USB) and I get error Code:2 155,177.

I love my LiDE 120 so please Canon FIX THIS!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-29-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

It seems that most people are getting no luck getting it to work even after:

 

  1. Sending it off for repair
  2. Using another replacement unit (Lide 120/220)

Unfortunately, with that in mind I think I will have to turn down their offer of repair and instead try to send it back to the shop. I may have some trouble doing so as I purchased the device in April of this year! I only held on to it for so long in the hope that it would finally start working once my PC was upgraded to Windows 10.

 

The fact that Canon support do not know how to solve this issue means that I just have to accept that a Canon scanner simply does not 'agree' with my system, which is a shame as it works brilliantly on a Windows 7 PC. I need to use a scanner daily so I don't think I can wait. I shall purchase an alternative in the meantime (Suggestions?) whilst I try to return this one.

 

Who should I contact regarding a return and refund? The seller or Canon, the manufacturer? I am in a weird spot with the seller, especially after waiting for so long to contact them and also because the device actually works, just not on my computer and operating systems (as advertised).

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

According to the LiDE 120/220 specifications Windows 10 is not a compatible operating system. Is it because Windows 10 is such a new OS, these models have not been tested with Windows 10 or these models simply are incompatible at the moment - or the worst case - will also remain incompatible with Windows 10? What ever is the reason, from a buyer's perspective it's a shame, because obviously you would expect full compatibility. Especially now that Windows 10 is getting quickly adopted.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-21-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

I have the same problem with both my CanosSan and MX Printer's scanner. The drivers Cannon claims work with Windows 10 simply do not.

After wasting an hour with Cannon tech support, retrying all the things I'd already tried, the Cannon tech finally admitted that their scanners do not work with Windows 10.

I wonder if Cannon realizes how many long term customers they're loosing due to the fact that NONE of their scanners work with Windows 10?

I'm hoping there will be a Class Action suit against Cannon over this issue since they are still selling scanners they know won't work with the current Windows OS

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-05-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

The funny thing is, CanoScan Lide 100 works fine on Win10, with ASUS motherboard ... Have just tried it yesterday. My Lide 120 on the other hand, does not work ...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-21-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

I have an old 110, a newer 220, and a MX 970. I've tried them each, individually, and none of them work with Windows 10. Canon's complete lack of response to this issue is going to cost them big time in the long run.

Our local Best Buy has removed all Canon scanners from their shelves and has a sign up that they have pulled the units due to "a large number of returns" and "lack of compatibility with the Windows 10" boxes they are currently selling.

When I asked the Best Buy "Geek" how many Canon scanners had been returned, his reply was "All of them"

I finally gave up and ordered an Epson, which I hated to do since all my Canon scanners work just fine on the Windows 7 laptop I plan to give to a relative, but Canon has had months to rectify this situation, and instead they have chosen to ignore customers who were heavily invested in their products.

Canon has cost me hundreds of dollars due to their gross incompetency, and after being a Canon customer for 3 decades, they will never again see one dollar from me.

I just hope this results in a Class Action lawsuit so we can recover some of our loses.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-22-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

This driver is much better, but the problem still occurs... I am scanning postage stamp sized items at 120% (300dpi). Now scanning fails after 3 or 4 successful scans. Unplugging USB cable is not always necessary to recover. Before scanning was successful only once for every 5 or 6 scanning attempts, and I had to plug and unplug the USB cable frequently, so the device was a disaster. Now it is tolerable, but far from perfect. I am using LiDE 220.

 

EDIT: Now 9 successful scans and then failure (Code:2, 156, 182). Well...  anyway, much better!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-05-2015

Re: Canon LiDE 120 Error message: "Cannot communicate with scanner for these reasons:"

[ Edited ]

It actually works now!  Smiley Happy

 

I have found driver for my Lide 120 here: http://www.canon.co.uk/support/consumer_products/products/scanners/lide_series/canoscan_lide_120.asp...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement