Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-14-2014

Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum.. can't find a scanner specific forum

 

I have been using my LiDE 210 scanner to scan some photos.. and every once and a while, the scanner just hangs in the middle of a scan.  Totally locked up.  I have to use the Windows task manager to force it to quit.  After quitting the application (Canon MP Navigator EX)  and restarting it, it again freezes with a 'scanner warming up' message.  Even unplugging the scanner USB cable and replugging it does not fix the problem.  The only way seems to be to shut down my Windows 8.1 system and restart it. 

 

Any idea what may be causing this hang, and how to fix it?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-14-2014

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

I am having the same problem.. initially, with the LiDE 210, and because I thought the scanner or cable was defective, I went out and bought a newer model, the 220.

 

Turns out that I am having the exact same problem with the 220.  It is really frustrating because I have a lot of images to scan, and after scanning a bunch of them, the scanner just hangs with platen half way through the scan. Like the original poster, the only way out of this is to reboot my Windows 8.1 system - but the most frustrating thing about this is that all my scans prior to the hang are LOST!

 

So, with a new scanner and new scanner software (the 220 uses IJ Scan, the 210 used Navigator), I am getting the exact same problem.

 

My system is completely up to date, and my BIOS is also at the latest level (i updated it thinking maybe the USB drivers needed updating, since this is a USB driven scanner)

 

I reported this to Canon support, and they said they never heard of this problem.. guess they don't read these forums.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-29-2014

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

i have the same problem, my scanner freezes after a couple of scans. have to restart. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-14-2014

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

May I ask what OS you are using?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-29-2014

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

win 8.1    X64

Ja
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-11-2015

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

I am receiving a pop up that states "Internal Error occurred. Scanner driver will be closed Code 5,202,52." I reinstalled the driver to no avail.
Product Expert
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

Hi Ja,

 

If you have any antivirus or firewall programs installed on your computer, please temporarily disable them, then attempt to scan again.  Sometimes these programs can block the scanning process.  If you still experience difficulty, please call or email us using one of the methods on the Contact Us page for further assistance.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2015

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

Same issue here. It used to work, for about 6 months, then just stopped despite no changes to my system. Canon seems indifferent. 

 

Has anyone been able to resolve this or do I simply have to buy a new scanner? It will NOT be a Canon

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-30-2015

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

[ Edited ]

I have a brand new LIDE 220 and it is doing the same thing. I can get maybe 1 or 2 scans done and then it hangs in the middle of a scan. After about 5 minutes says the scanner isn't connected. When I try scanning again it hangs witn the "Scanner warming up" message.

 

I am also using Windows 8.1 x64.

 

If the problem was with an anti-virus program then it shouldn't even scan the first time.

 

This is getting really frustrating: I bought this scanner to do a job and now I am considering returning it.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-30-2015

Re: Canon LIDE 210 Scanner Hangs

Just a note: The ONLY(temporary) resolution to this I have found is to reboot the PC.

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement