cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A driver supporting solution menu ex is not installed

bobarola
Apprentice

I have a CanoScan LiDE 210 that I've been using for the last two years at least.  I recently used it about a week ago and had no issues with it.  For some reason when I tried using it today through MP Navigator and Solution Menu it doesn't work.  I get an error from Solution Menu where only the help features are available to be clicked and from MP Navigator it tells me that it cannot start.

I have tried reinstallation and even the driver update available from your site.  I'm not sure what the issue coudl be anymore.  I know it can start and the bulb works fine because when I plut the usb in my computer recognizes it and for a short while the scanner will light up, but that is all.  

I'd appreciate any and all help.

30 REPLIES 30

I went into the registry and deleted traces of CanonSolutionMenuEx and subsequently reinstalled with the CD that comes with the scanner - still same result.   Any help in getting the scanner to work appreciated.  Thanks.

flame
Apprentice

I have encoumtered exactly teh same problem, but only after downloading Windows 8.1 after I had been using Windows 8 with no issues relating to my Canon Printer

I am perpelexed that Canon has not relied officially to this issue and told customers that it is or is not a Canon issue. 

Canon need to say EXACTLY what the fix is and precisely how to do it.  Not everyone on here is fully computer literate

I note a few have suggested using a "cleaner", yet no one has posted exactly which cleaner to us

Looking for help ASAP

Thanks

cara460
Contributor

If you cannot find proper driver from Canon website, you can use your device manager to install driver for your device.

Step 1. Click Start, then right-click "My Computer" (or "Computer") and click "Manage".

Step 2. In the Computer Management window, on the left, click "Device Manager".