cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

quick question ... shooting group portrait

krisz
Contributor

Hello all,

super newbie here, just finally learning my settings other than auto :D, so please be gentle...

I am taking some pictures of my friends family tomorrow, outdoors,mid day, super sunny-i'm in Vegas :), was wondering what are the best setings would be,,i have a Canon rebel Xs, kit lens..thank you!

15 REPLIES 15

Composition is the hardest thing to learn and see in photography.  Probably the number one difference between average and good photographers.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I am not a fan of the close background being at an angle to the camera.  It draws the eye away from the subjects.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

I don't think so.

If I were to change anything, in the bottom picture which is my pick, I would have stepped back a few feet.  This would have included the family's feet in the photo and more of the light and garage door.  A photo needs to tell a story to be really great.  Not only who was there but where were we.  Either of these or both are going to be nice mementos of the day.  The faces especially in the bottom picture are really nice.  That is the main most important thing.

All and all a nice job.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thanks guys..i am not happy at all, but as this is my first attemp, i always can improve..i agree on cutting off the feet looks terrible...ughh

If they were paying clients i would do a redo, and probably cry..but as of now, i have about 150 shots to go through, hoping to be able to edit them just enough so they like it...:(

Thanks again

@krisz wrote:

Thanks guys..i am not happy at all, but as this is my first attemp, i always can improve..i agree on cutting off the feet looks terrible...ughh