cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

quick question ... shooting group portrait

krisz
Contributor

Hello all,

super newbie here, just finally learning my settings other than auto :D, so please be gentle...

I am taking some pictures of my friends family tomorrow, outdoors,mid day, super sunny-i'm in Vegas :), was wondering what are the best setings would be,,i have a Canon rebel Xs, kit lens..thank you!

15 REPLIES 15

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Depending on the size of the group you'll probably want to shoot toward the wide end of your lens' zoom range. Use the AV mode and work around f8 or f11 to increase depth of field. The real challenge you're making for yourself is shooting in the high mid-day sun. The harsh shadows on peoples' faces  will be less than flattering and you subjects will be more prone to squinting.

Lower morning or afternoon sun will provide better lighting. If possible, get your subjects into the shade somewhere, even if it's under an awning or marquee. They'll be happier and more likely to smile and keep their eyes open. Keep the sun at your back or to the side, out of the scene. Try to find an uncluttered background. Take plenty of shots from slightly different angles and distances. Move in closer for some wider angle shots then step back and zoom in a little bit to fill the frame as needed.

At least you're not having to shoot this group in northern Indiana at the moment. Below zero and single digit temps means you can't shoot till everybody stops shivering. Robot Frustrated

Thank you so much for the reply!!

I was trying for a softer light, so told them later in the day, but they didnt have time then. ..And of course last two days were perfectly overcast, hah!

I will take everything into account, appreciate the advise!

Thanks 🙂