Canon Community Canon Community

Frequent Contributor

Re: Traveling with camera gear

I am a hobbyist, and yes, the gear is very important to me.  My hobby is photographing birds, and all aspects of that are interesting: appreciating and using the equipment well, the challenge of getting a good shot, the appreciation of the bird's beauty, and the editing process.   For me, the equipment itself is a real draw.  Modern DSLRs are magnificent pieces of engineering. 

When I fly and take my 100-400 mm zoom, I have always taken it attached to the camera body, because I do not like to detach them, from dust considerations.  They travel in a Lowepro holster case, as  carry-on of course.  But some say it is better to detach the lens and camera when traveling, since the weak point in that arrangement is the lens-camera coupling.  One must then compromise, and I have chosen to not disconnect the lens.

Since I recently upgraded to the new 7D (from a 60D) and the improved 100-400 mm zoom, I am revisiting the issue.  That's the reason for the original post. I appreciate the comments that have been made.

VIP

I would pack each separately.  Not connected.  I should say that is what I did when I was working but I still travel that way if I am not the one handling the gear.

Again, the best advice is, just don't do anything stupid.  You'll be fine.

A lot less stuff for 2018 but still a lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

Edward,

I can't believe this.  All of this is exactly what I said in the first reply of this thread.

Detach lens

Cap it

Transport detached

Use cap for body

Don't be afraid to change lenses, mount is designed for a life time of coupling decoupling

Use common sense during lens changes to avoid contaminants

Bring bags

Use your gear, its not going to be in a lab, its outside, there is going to be dust.