cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question from a 10 year Nikon shooter

greyhoundrick
Contributor

Hello everyone,

Ive been shooting Nikon for 10 years and have decided to purchase my first Canon DSLR, lens and flash.

I know nothing about Canon specifically and would love to have your input, expertise and suggestions in order to get started. I appreciate any help you can give me. Thanks!

I want to purchase a macro lens and body+flash to go with it and start by shooting macro with Canon gear. I believe the Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x macro lens is the one I will get.

Can you recommend a body for this particular lens considering I wont be entering into Canon with the top pro model DSLR, but rather a fairly nice DX or FX body. I would compare it to a Nikon D7200 or Nikon D750.

Also, which flash you might recommend as well. I like to shoot off camera flash, but would need something not too cost prohibitive. 

My budget is somewhere in the $3000-$4000 range for everything.

Thank you very much for helping me and I look forward to seeing your recommendations.

Best to all,

Rick

13 REPLIES 13

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

What sort of macro photography?  You could spend half that budget on support gear for macro shots, like tripods, macro rails, special macro flashes and remote triggers, etc.

Right now, the best buy in the Canon DSLR lineup is the EOS 80D, IMHO.  It uses a 24 MP, APS-C image sensor.  The lowest priced full frame Canon DSLR is the EOS 6D, with a 20 MP sensor.  Take your pick.  

Your lens choice has quite a lot of magnification, so your choice of tripod and head could be crucial to success.  At 5x magnification you will need a VERY stable tripod and head.  

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Thanks very much for your expertise Waddizzle. I appreciate it!