cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From T2i to ?

richardp
Contributor

Hi experts.  I need your help as i'm completly confused about the current Canon ( and non-Canon ) product line.

I'm an occasional, and amateur, photographer.

I currently have a T2i with the following lenses :

- EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM 

- EF-S 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Although far from being an expert, I typically use the T2i in Manual mode.

In general, I'm satisfied with it but do find that using it at ISO above 400 is somewhat granular.  Dont know if it's because of the camera, the lenses or the photographer though.  

I'll be giving the T2I body to my son so I need a replacement.  I'm not looking for a specialized camera.  I'm looking more for a general purpose camera (still and video), offering better results than the T2I.

As for current features I see in some newer cameras that interest me :

- audio port

- WiFi

- better ISO support

- in camera timelapse video

- touch screen

- using my old EF-S lenses would be nice as well.

Price limit.  1000$.

As for lenses, what could be a good general purpose lens to start off with that would be 1 notch better that the EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM.

Thanks, Richard

28 REPLIES 28

@richardp wrote:
I guess the T2I served it's purpose then. It allowed me to learn how to use a DSLR camera. Youtube'd a couple of 80D tutorials last night and see that the 80D is similar to the T2i, user navigation wise. So the learning curve should not be too steep. So maybe it's time to move up to a higher grade. Darn, will have to re-visit my 1k$ limit.