cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From T2i to ?

richardp
Contributor

Hi experts.  I need your help as i'm completly confused about the current Canon ( and non-Canon ) product line.

I'm an occasional, and amateur, photographer.

I currently have a T2i with the following lenses :

- EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM 

- EF-S 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Although far from being an expert, I typically use the T2i in Manual mode.

In general, I'm satisfied with it but do find that using it at ISO above 400 is somewhat granular.  Dont know if it's because of the camera, the lenses or the photographer though.  

I'll be giving the T2I body to my son so I need a replacement.  I'm not looking for a specialized camera.  I'm looking more for a general purpose camera (still and video), offering better results than the T2I.

As for current features I see in some newer cameras that interest me :

- audio port

- WiFi

- better ISO support

- in camera timelapse video

- touch screen

- using my old EF-S lenses would be nice as well.

Price limit.  1000$.

As for lenses, what could be a good general purpose lens to start off with that would be 1 notch better that the EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM.

Thanks, Richard

28 REPLIES 28

ScottyP
Authority

Hi,

I feel your pain on noise and grain at ISO above 400. I had a crop camera (T3i) with the same sensor and I found that really limiting.

You can go for a full frame camera, which will pick you up a stop and a half or two. That would require all new lenses of course since EF-s won't mount on FF.  The 6d would be the least expensive modern full frame and it does very well in low light. 

Or, pick up from 1/2 a stop to maybe a full stop in high ISO image quality going to an 80d, which is still a crop sensor.