cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Band wants to use pics outside of social media. Photo rights?

ilzho
Rising Star
Hello I shot a national band and they would like to use some of the pics.
Here is their comment.
"To confirm, ### has permission to post any of your photos of the ### website and on social media. If we would like to use outside social media, (publicity, promotion), what rights are granted?"

So my question is do photographers charge a set fee per pic outside of social media??
I'm happy if they post my pics on social media, my watermark is on it.
But outside social media, I am assuming it maybe in print.
Print is different the me than social media.
But then again, I have never been down this road before.

Just want to know what other people have done.

Thanks.

David
5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I'm no professional, but I would think that you would want to maintain excluse control over distribution, and not delegate distribution rights to a third party.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@Waddizzle wrote:

I'm no professional, but I would think that you would want to maintain excluse control over distribution, and not delegate distribution rights to a third party.

I think that's a sensible observation in the general case. But given that the pictures are of one band, and it's that band who wants to use them, it might be more lucrative, and a lot less trouble, to sell them distribution rights.

Bottom line for the OP: If you're going to be doing this sort of thing often enough to have it matter, talk to a lawyer.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

I found this online and thought I would post it.

Things to remember about copyright:

• Copyright is a property right.
  • Just because you buy a print does not mean you have purchased the copyright.
  • Professional photographers are the smallest of small copyright holders.