cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sports photography with the 7d.

Stew9
Apprentice

I am new to the 7d and canon all together.  I am trying to take pictures of my sons baseball games and I cannot get the bat or ball to be clear.  I want to be able to see the seams of the ball and the name on the bat.  However I have to admit I am a little intimaidated by the 7d as I am not a professional by any means but wanted to good camera, now I am wondering if I made the right choice since I am a little confused.

28 REPLIES 28

Skirball
Authority

If you really want to completely freeze the action of the bat and ball you need a fast shutter speed.  I'd say at least 1/1000, and probably 1/2000 just to be safe.  If you’re not very experienced in Photography then I’d use the Tv setting and set the shutter speed.  If it’s sunny out you can get about 1/1600 at a ISO 400 and f/8.  So if you’re shooting in Tv, set the shutter speed to 1/1600, the ISO to 400 and the camera will set the aperture to get the correct exposure.  Turn it to manual focus (on the lens) and set the focus for where the ball and bat are (hint: use auto-focus to lock on the batter, switch to manual, and adjust if necessary).

If there’s not enough sun the camera is going to open up the aperture, which shrinks the area that’s in focus.  Although it can look very nice, if the area in focus is too ‘shallow’ then you’re not going to get your shot.

Skirball
Authority

Also, you mentioned just getting the 7D.  Not to push you into buyers remorse, but you got a lot of camera for a beginner.  It's fine if you can afford it, and the 7D is a great camera, but I feel like salemen and the internet push people into getting much more camera than they need.  A rebel could do everything I described above just as well as the 7D.

Stew9,