cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sports photography with the 7d.

Stew9
Apprentice

I am new to the 7d and canon all together.  I am trying to take pictures of my sons baseball games and I cannot get the bat or ball to be clear.  I want to be able to see the seams of the ball and the name on the bat.  However I have to admit I am a little intimaidated by the 7d as I am not a professional by any means but wanted to good camera, now I am wondering if I made the right choice since I am a little confused.

28 REPLIES 28

travischance
Apprentice

Yes, the 7D is a great "prosumer" camera that was designed & marketed for action.  I've owned them in the past & they did great when shooting sporting events (they were my bread & butter until I upgraded to Mark IV's).

To freeze the player & ball is very simple; set your camera into Shutter Priority Mode (TV) at a minimum of 1/500 second.  Depending upon your lens & available light, the camera may "stop" the lens down from it's maximum aperture to achieve that shutter speed.  Depending upon your level of expertise, I'd also recommend placing your camera in "Auto ISO".  If your are moving up & down the field or the sun is moving in & out of the clouds, the ISO will definitely change throughout the day.

By setting the shutter speed & using auto ISO, the camera will select the aperture required.  Personally, I'm not a fan of shutter priority but I'm a sports shooter with experience.  But using these settings will get you started.  I hope this helps!