cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new to RAW and 6d

mayjay
Apprentice

I am new to RAW shooting and the 6D.  What settings are good for portrait shots?  I've been told straight RAW or both.  suggestions and what settings ?

6 REPLIES 6

Skirball
Authority

The only reason that I see not to shoot RAW is if you need the absolute fastest burst rate your camera is capable of (in which case you should have got a 7D 🙂   Otherwise, always shoot RAW.

So, assuming that you are going to shoot RAW, the question is, do you need RAW+jpg or not.  Well, that’s up to you.  I don’t see any benefit of it for my work, but I know plenty who do.  The only real purpose of it is to be able to share the (non-edited) images right away with a client, or social media, or whatever.  I always post process, so again, it doesn’t have a place in my workflow. 

Long story short, just make sure you’re shooting RAW.  I’d do it without jpg first.  If you find you have a need for it, add it.

I’ll add that I think this utility of RAW + jpg is decreasing as technology evolves, and the WiFi addition of the 6D further decreases the possible uses.  I think.  I don’t use this function, so I can’t confirm, but I believe that if you transfer files over WiFi that the camera will convert from RAW to jpg on the transfer, even if you only shot RAW.  Can anyone confirm?

Yes. I shoot RAW only. The camera make you "process" the  photo first, then save it as a jpg and then you can upload/share it online directly in the camera. You can apply various effects and settings when processing the image in camera.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide