Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-12-2018

canon 600d problem

Hey Guys. Apologies for the awful lingo, as my camera knowledge is very limited.

I have a Canon 600d. The wheel that changes the aperture and the iso etc does not work anymore. The one by your first finger. Now it’s not that new a camera and it’s an £85 service charge excluding VAT and god knows how much extra for the rest. It’s not worth it

So I was going to have a go on my own. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar issues or know of another fix?

And what’s that wheel even called in camera turns. Once again, I am useless with cameras so apologies for sounding like a dummy
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,990
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: canon 600d problem


Johnosurfbeatz wrote:
Hey Guys. Apologies for the awful lingo, as my camera knowledge is very limited.

I have a Canon 600d. The wheel that changes the aperture and the iso etc does not work anymore. The one by your first finger. Now it’s not that new a camera and it’s an £85 service charge excluding VAT and god knows how much extra for the rest. It’s not worth it

So I was going to have a go on my own. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar issues or know of another fix?

And what’s that wheel even called in camera turns. Once again, I am useless with cameras so apologies for sounding like a dummy

Since you evidently don't have the instruction manual, download it from Canon's Web site. It has diagrams that will tell you what all the wheels and buttons are called and what they're supposed to do.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
VIP
Posts: 8,593
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: canon 600d problem

Two things for you to.

1st ... do d/l the manual for your camera and read it.

2nd ... reset the camera to factory.  Anytime things don't do as you think they should, reset the cameras.

 

(The manual will tell you how!)  Smiley Happy

A lot less stuff for 2018 but still a lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 385
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: canon 600d problem

You may just have a slipping rubber wheel on your Main Dial. Here is how you can fix it yourself: http://martybugs.net/blog/blog.cgi/gear/bodies/Fixing-Slipping-Main-Dial-On-A-Canon-DSLR.html

 

762563D1-5D27-4966-96A1-81A2750C25B1.jpeg

 

I lifted up the rubber grip on the main dial with my finger (as shown in the photo below), and used a toothpick to apply some glue to the plastic wheel. The rubber grip was released back into position, I rotated the main dial by approximately 180 degrees, and repeated the process with some more glue.

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 5D Mk III
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,242
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: canon 600d problem

Make sure you aren't in full-auto mode (on the mode dial).  In 'auto' mode you are blocked from making changes (the dial wont do anything).  You would need to be in one of the "creative" modes (P, Av, Tv, or M).

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-12-2018

Re: canon 600d problem

Unfortunately

No auto mode

Its a plastic wheel and not a rubber one

However I did find out it is called the "Main Wheel" according to the manual

I also did a factory reset and no luck

It was the one just in the settings tab.

Smiley Sad

 

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-12-2018

Re: canon 600d problem

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement