cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will a EOS 1D Mark lll with 10.1 mp give higher quality scenery pics than my 60D with 18 mp?

LesWurse
Enthusiast

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

I would think so. DXOmark is 80 vs 66 or so. I would think that FF trumps number of pixels. But it really comes down to the skill of the photographer and the lens.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

I would think so. DXOmark is 80 vs 66 or so. I would think that FF trumps number of pixels. But it really comes down to the skill of the photographer and the lens.

Thanks, I'm an experienced amateur but new to Canon's EOS cameras. I'm using a Canon 50mm/1.4 lens for portraits and a Tamron 28-275mm for scenery.

ScottyP
Authority

Not sure it is that clear cut. Image quality and scenery shots are both a bit vague. 

I suspect the 10mp FF camera has less noise than the crop. The 1d will probably do better autofocus on moving subjects.  Obviously the 1 series body is more rugged too. 

I am not sure though that an easy shot of scenery (landscape? Travel?) in broad daylight would be better on the 10mp 1d3 than on the 18mp crop at ISO 100.  The extra resolution of the 18mp sensor might be a factor in favor of the crop, especially if you crop the image at all. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

Thanks for your thoughts. My portrait work on our company products is the prime reason for using the D60 with 50mm/1.4 lens.  The rest of  my photography is recreational and probably doesn't  justify buying the used 1D. (Super price and in mint condition though.)

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I would think that FF trumps number of pixels."