cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading, any recommendations?

photocat93
Contributor

So, I've been using my little entry-level 450d now for the last 9 years. I prefered to just invest in lenses rather than new bodies and thus far it has served me well.

However, I'm really starting to notice it struggle recently; had some auto focus issues and the quality is really starting to show. I'm also using it for some part-time photography jobs at the moment which has really made the decision to upgrade important.

Any recommendations?

5d mark IV would be a dream but it's a little out of my price range. I've looked at two full frames: the 6d and the 5d mark iii and even looked over the 80d but I can't make a decision.

Before you ask, yes I shoot in manual and yes I have invested in EF lenses.

Thanks! 🙂 

14 REPLIES 14

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

The 6D is a wonderful camera body.  It is really great in low light situations.  The full frame sensor captures images that seem to have lower noise than APS-C sensor bodies.  I have found it great for stills, but not as good as other camera bodies with more AF points for tracking subjects in AI Servo mode.

The 5D Mark III is workhorse that is popular among super enthusiasts and professionals alike.  It combines low light performance, advanced AF performance, and a full frame sensor into one water and dust resistant camera body.

The 80D is probably the current best buy in the current Canon DSLR lineup.  It uses an APS-C sensor, but it has an advanced "Dual Pixel" image sensor that produces low noise images that rival a full frame camera like the 6D.  This camera has an AF system that has many features found in Canon's flagship 1D Series.  The camera body build is comparable to the 6D, and is not as well sealed as the 5D Mark III.