cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time to upgrade from my EOS 10D. Need advice.

jcbruce
Apprentice

I purchased my EOS 10D back in 2000 as a way to reclaim control of image processing after losing access to a darkroom when I graduated from college.  Although it has served me well for everyday and semi-professional shots, it's now a relic by today's standards.  I need to upgrade to something that will keep me happy for a while without breaking the bank.  But there are so many Canon digital SLRs from which to choose, I just don't know which one would be best.

Any help anyone can offer will be greatly appreciated.

JCB

7 REPLIES 7

David
Enthusiast

What is your budget? Do you want to purchase new or will used be ok?

What lenses do you have & what are your fields of interest. If the majority of your lenses are for a crop body jumping to full frame will be more difficult vs staying with a crop body. Also do you think low light (a higher ISO capable body) is needed, faster AF system etc. What's important to you & what is the budget. Things have really advanced since the 10D was introduced.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Since I have never really invested a lot of money in lighting equipment, most of what I shoot is outdoors: scenery, wildlife, flowers, etc.  And as an avid dog lover, I enjoy shooting my three Parson Russell Terriers more than anything--portrature, action shots, etc.  I own a bakery for dogs as well, so I use the 10D for events such as "Photos with Frosty," where I do use a basic lighting setup and external flash to ensure that people get what appears to be a professional image of their pups.  For everyday shooting, I use a Quantaray 19-200mm 1:3.5 - 6.3. I also have a Tokino 20-35mm 1:3.5 - 4.5 and a Tamraon 70-300 1:4 - 5.6 (the latter I really don't like much).