cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T4I or 60D for starter camera ? This is my first DSLR camera.

hustler98
Apprentice

I am new to this camera industry and I am looking for some insight from anyone who can help me here.  I recently took a few classes and am very interested in investing in a good camera with lens.  I am looking to shoot lots of kid photos and also as my 10 month old child gets older, I want to capture his sporting events and even take it on vacation.  I heard that I should invest more money into the lens instead of the camera.   The lens I am eyeing is EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM.  I've seen it in action and what it can do and would like some input also on the lens.  Any advice would be appreciated.

Ken

6 REPLIES 6

garphoto
Contributor

Ken, if you have the money for the lens then you should go for the more advanced camera of the two slections you have made and choose the T4i. In doing so, you will find that it will be longer in replacing the camera because of the "bells and whistles" you desire then if you purchased the 60D. I went to DP Review and created a side by side comparrison so that you can get a better view of the two cameras head to head. While there are subtle differences; environmental sealing, processor and ISO (at highest range); it is my opinion that you will findthe newer camera of the two the most suitable for your needs.

http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=canon_eos650d&products=canon_eos60d

Gar Travis, asmp, CPS, ISAP

"Talent makes the photographer...
Canon makes the photographer memorable." ~ GT©

I have had the 60 Do for a year and love it. Really solid camera. I have had 4 canon bodies and this one is the best. 

Josh Hunt

www.joshhuntphotos.com

BrickR
Enthusiast