cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My next camera

idanidan123
Enthusiast

So I've been using my 1100D since February 2015, and now I'm looking for my next DSLR. I only use Manual Mode, so is there a camera similar to the 5D Mark III, but at a much lower price ?

Any suggestions will be helpful 🙂

37 REPLIES 37

ScottyP
Authority

When you say "like a 5d3", do you mean you want a full frame camera, or are you OK with another crop sensor camera?

What kind of shooting do you do?  Portraits, landscapes, serious sports or wildlife, etc..?  

Which is more important to you: 1.) good performance in low light, or 2.) quick tracking and focus on a lot of serious fast sports or fast moving animals? 

What is your budget?

What lenses do you already have?

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

Also, if I may ask, why do you use Manual so much?

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

I prefer it over all the other modes.

Full frame camera.
I do landscapes.
I think Good performance in low light is more important, because I don't do fast sports photography nor do I do fast moving animals.
My budget is pretty big.
I have 25-105mm, and 90-300mm

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Most of the time I'm shooting with a 5D III, but the 6D has the same size sensor with similar sensor performance (actually the 6D is just fractionally better) but at a lower price.