cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My camera Canon 5D Classic or Mark I doesn't turn on. :(

alcesamuelpaul
Contributor

Hello I am Samuel leaving in Haiti. I am a newbie but a really close to a pro because i am giving my all to photography.

unfortunately my camera "Canon 5D Classic or mark I" stop working this morning. can't keep my tears guys cause it cost me a lot of money and i just have it for 5 months. (of course it was not new). 

Only the LCD screen on the top works but the light doesnt turn on.

Could someone help me to understand the issue? help me know if its something that i can fix?

Help any advice is welcome because i still can't keep my tears.

PS: I am doing photo just for fun, not for money. 

action taken:  wanna also let you know that I removed the batt for the night, the memory card, removed the lens, i do anything related to a simple troubleshoot. 

PS: it doesnt have the small memory batt at all. 

22 REPLIES 22

No harm putting one back in. It's only a dollar or two. It stores the date/time and camera settings. If you have the BP511 out for sometime, the capacitor inside may have exhausted and the camera cannot get back to normal.

BTW, why you remove the button battery ?

@alcesamuelpaul wrote:

It used to work... the Camera is working without the battery since december.  

Good Question! when I brought the Camera the battery was not good. I buy a new batt. But the batt keep frozen the camera. but when i remove the batt the camera works properlly. 🙂

anyway i am gonna try to put the one have in it once again.

If you are talking about the button battery causing a problem check that you are installing it correctly. Check the + orientation. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Hello GUYS!!!

You will never understand how happy i am because the camera start working again.