cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking into full frame

Noka
Apprentice
Good Evening Everyone

I'm new to the Canon world and very excited to be apart of the Canon community.

I started out with a Nikon D90 and decided to upgrade to a full-frame camera.

I hope I don't come across as an obnoxious newbie, but I figured the best place to get answers was straight from the source!

I'm looking into purchasing a new camera, however I keep going back and fourth on save up and purchase the DM4 or save some money and purchase DM3 and put the extra coin towards glass, or should I consider another body?

I know I have a wide array of photo interest cause I really haven't locked down what I like to focus on.

I do know I not interested in
1. Portraits
2. Sports
3. Weddings

My photo interest include,

1. Travel my wife and I travel allot (the occasional street life, historical architecture and landscape)

2. Landscape/and possibly astro-photography

Any guidance on this dunce would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all.

Noka!
39 REPLIES 39

It's a common understanding out there that the 6D sensor is just as good as the 5D Mark III so I'd imagine that the 6D Mark II sensor has to be better than the 5DIII and I have the 5DIII...it's pretty good up to ISO 25,600 with aggressive post noise filtering.

The 45 focus points for the 6DII is closely bunched up in the middle (covering less than half of the total area) but then for what you need to do (and most other types of shooting), it will be more than adequate.

Between the 6DII and the older 5DIII, if it were me, I'd go for the newer model, which is the 6D...the 5DIII is a bit old in the tooth, so to speak.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

@diverhank wrote: