cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the cannon 80d suitable to film weddings?

Weddingkid97
Apprentice

Hey, so I'm new to film and am looking at starting a videographer company that mainly dose weddings... I eventually would love to have all cannon gear including the c100 but until I save up I am looking at a entry level cannon such as the 80d, so that I can practice and get used to lighting.

So the main questions that I am stumped on ☹....

- the 80d dose not offer 4k, is that a massive problem ? I am thinking of doing a lot of slow motion ( filiming at 60p then changing it to 25/26p..
-what is the battery life like?

-is their any other affordable cannons with great video?

-how is the 80d at low light?

-will it damage my camera if I record with it on and off for 8 hours... if so, should I buy a decent camcorder and use that for the reception speeches and ceremony ? 🙂
-if I buy lenses and accesories for the 80d, can they go straight on the c100
- and finally, what lenses do you recommend to create cinematic look without breaking my bank haha.

Thanks !!!!

7 REPLIES 7

lly3988
Rising Star

Why not consider a Canon XC 10 if it is for videography ?

Weddingkid97
Apprentice
Yeah I have looked at that too! It was either c100 or cx10 but to start off and learn on I need something cheaper and easier to use. Then once I get the hang of the basics, use my 80d as a backup/ side camera... 🙂

Ray-uk
Whiz

The 80D like all DSLRs is basically a stills camera with added basic video facilities meant for the occasional use, it is not designed to be a full time video camera for serious use.

Video recording is limited to approx 30 minutes for each session, this is a legal requirement in some countries to allow the camera to be sold at a lower tax rate.

If you are going to be doing video professionally then you should get a proper video camera.

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@Weddingkid97 wrote: