cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Image output from RAW is grainy?

debsiew
Contributor

Hi. I hope I'm posting this at the right thread, else please advise if this isn't the right section for this.

I've recently received a 5DM3 as a graduation gift and got myself a 50mm lens to shoot along with. I didn't study or learn photography and most of what I know I learned it off the internet, so I'm still rather new to this.

I'm not sure whether my original settings were wrong or that my sensor isn't clean. The images I've shot looked decent in RAW, grain isn't that bad, however once I start tweaking with the settings in Camera Raw(photoshop), the grain becomes rather obvious and it gets worst even with slight brightness/colour changes with photoshop.

The below image was shot with the following settings: Manual, f1.4, 1/250s, ISO 200, 50mm.

JPEG output from RAW no changes

_X9A7556_O.jpg

JPEG output from RAW with some setting adjustments (done in Camera RAW in photoshop)

_X9A7556_E.jpg

JPEG with slight colour adjustments and clearning on photoshop CC

_X9A7556_A.jpg

When the image is zoomed in 100% (full image size at 5760x3840px), the grain is really bad, especially around the hair and face. You can already see it from the second image attached. I'm not very confident to send this image to my friend as the quality isn't as smooth and clean as I've seen from other people.

So what I'm trying to figure out now is this:

1. Was my camera settings wrong?

2. Was the ambient light at the location throwing off the exposure which resulted to the grain? (shot around 3pm in the afternoon, lots of back light in the background)

3. Did I overdo the image adjustments in Camera RAW and then further affected it in photoshop?

4. Is the format of the image wrong? Should this be exported as TIFF instead of JPEG?