cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do i check shutter count on 5d mk3

bajatony1
Apprentice

How do i check shutter count on 5d mk3. Someone said it was available on the utilities disc, but i can't find it.

Cheers

Tony

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Sent you a PM.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

View solution in original post

112 REPLIES 112

Will you also PM me the solution?

Hi,

I am new to Cameras and looking forward to buy my first one. Its a 2nd hand Canon 5d Mark III. Dont't know how to check the shutter count. Can't send it to Canon with out purchasing it. Is there any way to check the shutter count myself during inspection for purchase. Please message me. Thank You.

@musman wrote:

Hi,

I am new to Cameras and looking forward to buy my first one. Its a 2nd hand Canon 5d Mark III. Dont't know how to check the shutter count. Can't send it to Canon with out purchasing it. Is there any way to check the shutter count myself during inspection for purchase. Please message me. Thank You.

You can't send it to Canon, but the person trying to sell it to you can. If it means that much to you, limit yourself to sellers who can document the shutter count with a certification from Canon. There are programs that claim to be able to read the shutter count, but Canon does not stand behind them.

In any case, a high shutter count is only one of quite a number of problems that can exist in a used camera. Since you're new to cameras and therefore probably don't know what to look for, buying just any used camera, even one with a provably low shutter count, is a dangerous gamble. My suggestion would be that if you're going to spend important money on a used camera, it should be a certified refurb from Canon's online store. Such cameras come with a one-year guarantee that helps protect the buyer from failures due to unsuspected problems.

Bob