cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Eos M3 has started to turn off when trying to see photos

ajpittman
Apprentice

Hey everyone, I am new to photography and I am having problems with my Eos m3 that I can't seem to fix. I have been taking photos and it has been working fine until now. When I take a photo and try to view it, the screen on the camera goes black and the camera turns off. When I plug the camera into my laptop and try to connect it the camera also just turns off. But it only does this when I have the sd card in the camera. I have two other sd card and neither of them seem to be formatted for the camera as they won't save images and won't let me access all the images I have taken, but when I use them in the camera the camera still lets me select the option to see them without turning off. I would really appreciate any help that anyone can provide.Thanks in advance! 

13 REPLIES 13

Ray-uk
Whiz

Sounds very much like a battery problem, try cleaning the contacts both on the battery and in the camera, if that doesn't work try a new battery.

Your other SD cards need to be formatted in the camera itself to make them work. There is an option to do this in the menu, look under the spanner section.

From Ray-uk "There is an option to do this in the menu, look under the spanner section."

A very informative response by Ray and for us "Yanks" the spanner symbol is what we call a wrench here in the former colonies 🙂

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

@wq9nscwrote:

From Ray-uk 

for us "Yanks" the spanner symbol is what we call a wrench here in the former colonies 🙂

Don't worry about it, one day you will get the hang of the English language, perhaps you may even learn to spell properly Smiley LOL

Well put Ray 🙂