Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?

Hello! I'm experiencing an annoying problem with my Canon EOS 500 n:

 

Sometimes when taking a picture (self-timer or manual), I hear the shutter open, and there is a single second click after about 5 seconds (it always takes the same couple of seconds, whether I'm taking a 30 second exposure pic or a quick one) and then nothing happens, the viewfinder remains dark, and the little display tells me the battery is empty. When I switch the camera off, the view is clear again and the picture simply hasn't been taken, no film was exposed.

 

I've tried different brands of batteries, and I figured the camera was simply defective, so I bought another one (used, for 10 bucks, they're pretty cheap these days) - and, amazingly, the error happens on that one too!

 

What on earth is causing this? Is it my lens? I mostly use a Tamron 70-300 mm, recently combined with a teleconverter. But the error doesn't happen every time, and why this battery message? It seems pretty much random to me.

 

So what's going on here? Smiley Frustrated

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,043
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?

That sounds like "shutter lockup".  If it is, then it can be disabled in the camera menus.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

Re: EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?

I've read the manual and haven't found anything - except that a flashing battery icon doesn't necessarily mean the battery is empty.

 

What is shutter lockup supposed to do when used correctly? And why would something like this happen only once in a while, seemingly at random?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,043
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?


Oneirophile wrote:

I've read the manual and haven't found anything - except that a flashing battery icon doesn't necessarily mean the battery is empty.

 

What is shutter lockup supposed to do when used correctly? And why would something like this happen only once in a while, seemingly at random?


I'm sorry, but I misspoke.  It is called "mirror lockup", not shutter lockup.  It is found at Custom Function 9, in the menus.  Check to make that setting is disabled.  Oherwise, try resetting the camera.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

Re: EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?

After reading the entire manual again, I realize you are talking about the EOS 500D - I am however talking about the old analogue camera, the EOS 500 n! Smiley LOL

 

There are only four different custom functions on this camera - red eye, beep, multi-exposure and bracket. Now, I figure this MIGHT indeed be related to the multi-exposure function on a technical level (perhaps the camera "thinks" it's waiting for a the next picture to be taken, that might explain why no film is advanced at all and why everything goes back to normal once it's switched off) - but it doesn't explain why it happens at all, without being selected...

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2017

Re: EOS 500 n - Battery-Error During Exposure.?

[ Edited ]

... I spoke to a handful of people at Canon Support on the phone, and pretty much everyone is baffled as to this problem showing up on two separate cameras. They don't repair these old models anymore, and posting it to a smaller firm costs more than a new camera, so I guess, I'll just have to get another model. This might be a common malfunction on the 500n... unless anyone tells me otherwise?

 

Edit: I'm just thinking ... COULD IT BE weary battery contacts that will work for low-energy-consuming tasks such as lighting meter, display and such, and fail to drain the amount needed for mechanical tasks? I'll try cleaning them and report back.

 

Edit 2: This is incredibly annoying: I wanted to try it on the older of the two cameras, from which I removed an unfinished film as it couldn't take a single shot anymore, but before the cleaning, I tried to see if the error was occuring without film inside - it's not. It works perfectly fine, pretends to take picture after picture, even with the lens I suspected to be causing trouble ... yeah I love things like that. I'm sure, the moment I insert a film, it's going to stop working on me again. I'm starting to get furious with this ...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement