cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Damage to camera motor or lens if we manually turn focus on AF and without pressing shutterbutton?

egosumcarlo
Contributor
Hi. Thanks for all the assistance. I'm still new to DSLRs and please excuse my dumb questions. I'm using the EF-S 18-135 IS USM lens that came with the Canon EOS 80D. I've read that given that it is nano USM, it is alright to manually turn the focus ring even when AF is on. Is this correct? Also, before I was able to read some more, I have been manually turning the focus ring with AF=on and without pressing the shutter button halfway. Can this harm the camera motor and/or the lens? Thank you very much in advance for your inputs.
8 REPLIES 8

lly3988
Rising Star

Your lens supports full time manual focus. Nothing to worry about rotating manual focus ring in AF mode.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

USM and STM lenses support full-time manual focus (you wont hurt the camera if you manually focus when auto-focus is enabled).

This is because USM (ultra-sonic motor) lenses have a clutch that allows the focus ring to "slip" -- you'll notice if you rotate the focus ring all the way to either minimum or maximum focus distance... you can still rotate the ring.   You'll feel the drag of the clutch as it lets the ring slip, but it wont hurt anything.

Though you didn't mention having an STM lens... on STM (Stepper Motors) the lens is "focus by wire" meaning there's actually no direct connection to the focusing elements in the lens at all.  The camera controls all movement (even manual focus).  But in manual focus mode is just responds to your input.  The unusual thing about the STM lenses is that since they are "focus by wire" lenses... the camera isn't actually always watching for input.  You have to "wake up" the focus system (typically a half-press of the shutter button or use the AF-On button) and then the focus will respond to manual focus input.