Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-05-2016

Change Mode Dial???

I have a Canon 70D, is there a way to change Modes (AV, TV, M, Bulb, etc) using the touch screen or other dial? Or do you have to use the top dial?

 

I can’t use my hands, I use a computer stylus strapped to my hand to change settings, but the 1 thing I can’t do is change that Mode Dial. I can’t push the center button down and turn the dial.

 

Any suggestions?
Thanks

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,318
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Change Mode Dial???

RooDog -

 

You need one of the later model cameras that has a touchscreen and Quick Button.

 

Give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON. They may have a program/policy that could help you out with a trade-in program.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,918
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Change Mode Dial???

That still won't let you change the mode dial. AFAIK, there is no way to do this programmatically.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,617
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Change Mode Dial???


RooDog wrote:

I have a Canon 70D, is there a way to change Modes (AV, TV, M, Bulb, etc) using the touch screen or other dial? Or do you have to use the top dial?

 

I can’t use my hands, I use a computer stylus strapped to my hand to change settings, but the 1 thing I can’t do is change that Mode Dial. I can’t push the center button down and turn the dial.

 

Any suggestions?
Thanks


I think you have to go to the 1D series to find a Canon DSLR without a mode dial. But depending on which model you buy and how new it is, that could be a very expensive workaround. Also, 1D's are pretty heavy, which, given your disability, is probably not a good thing.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎10-05-2016

Re: Change Mode Dial???

Thanks, I figured but thought I'd ask. 

Maybe I can get a camera repair guy to figure out how to make the center button stick down.

 

Greg

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,617
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Change Mode Dial???


RooDog wrote:

Thanks, I figured but thought I'd ask. 

Maybe I can get a camera repair guy to figure out how to make the center button stick down.

 

Greg


The center button is a fairly recent addition, provided to quell complaints that it was too easy to turn the dial accidentally. The 7D, for example, didn't have it (although the 7D Mk II does). So one straightforward solution to your problem could be to find a refurbished 7D.

 

But if you were to decide to go that route, be warned that Canon did make the center button an aftermarket add-on to the 7D. So if you buy a refurb 7D, check to make sure it hasn't undergone that modification.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement