cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS 5D Mk iii or iv in low light

mfostervt
Contributor

I am an amatuer photographer and avid birder.  I am passionate about bird photography and am considering an upgrade of my body.  Right now I have a 70D and have captured some wonderful images with it but I really struggle with the camera in low light.  Unfortunately birds do not often cooperate and I am unable to fill the frame with a bird, which means I am often cropping photos, sometimes significantly.  Low light and higher ISO just don't seem to work well with the 70D.  Noise is something I am always dealing with in Lightroom, but that means I am losing detail.  I am considering either the MK iii or iv as an upgrade and have been scouring the internet to see what others experience with these 2 bodies are.  Seems there is confilicting information on these low light images.  Some say the new higher res sensor on the iv is the answer, others say that the processing of low light images on the iii is better.  It is my guess that either would be a significant upgrade for me, but if I'm going to spend that kind of money, I want the one that will work best for me.  The faster frame rate of the iv is also attractive for birds in flight photos, but not enough of a thing that I wouldn't consider the iii.  I don't live near any camera store that would let me try them out as I am in rural VT, so I am stuck with researching on the net.  Any help you can provide would be great.

7 REPLIES 7

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

" I am passionate about bird photography ..."

Consider the 7D Mk II.  Not really an answer but it is a great camera for birders.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend