cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS-1D X vs. EOS-5D MK III - Which camera do you prefer ?

MichaelDanielHo
Enthusiast

Canon EOS-1D X

Canon EOS-5D MK III

Canon has two excellent full frame cameras occupying their higher end of the DSLR market. They are the EOS-1D X and the EOS-5D MK III. I have been using Canon equipment for about 25 years now and started with the EOS-1 series when it first came out in 1989 and the EOS-5 series when it first appeared on the market in 2005.

I am a Wildlife and Travel photographer and have used both cameras extensively out in the field. The two questions I get asked the most are, which is a better camera and which one do you prefer? My answers are always the same two questions, what type of photography are you shooting and how much do you want to spend? This analysis will not have photos, charts and graphs and assumes the reader is already familiar with Canon equipment. It will get straight to the point on my opinion of the two cameras from the viewpoint of a photographer out on photo shoots.

First, let us compare the major specs of the two cameras, EOS-1D X vs. EOS-5D MK III :

• Sensor Resolution :  18.1 MP  vs.  22.3 MP
  • ISO Sensitivity :  100 - 204800  vs. 100 - 102400
  • Processors :  Dual DIGIC 5+ and 1 DIGIC 4  vs.  One DIGIC 5+
  • Recording Media :  Two CF slots  vs.  One CF and One SD slot
  • Viewfinder :  0.76X  vs.  0.71X
  • Burst Rate :  14 fps  vs.  6 fps
  • Autofocus :  61-AF points  vs.  61-AF points
  • Cycle Count :  400,000  vs.  150,000
  • DxOMark Sensor Score :  Overall - 82  vs.  81
  • Low Light Performance :  2786 ISO  vs.  2293 ISO
  • Weight and Dimension :  6.2 x 6.4 x 3.3 @ 3.37 lbs  vs.  6.0 x 4.6 x 3.0 @ 2.1 lbs.
  • List price :  $6,799  vs.  $3,499